Results, Ridings & Candidates

Burnaby North

2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 123/123 polls
LIB Richard T. Lee 9,377 Elected
NDP Mondee Redman 8,552
GRN Doug Perry 1,325

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





7,103 votes | 38.45%

11,372 votes | 61.55%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

123/123 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • Riding, which contains NW part of Burnaby, contains an industrial section of Burnaby but is largely residential.
  • It runs from Burrard Inlet in north to Canada Way/Willingdon Avenue/Deer Lake Parkway/Deer Lake Avenue/Gilpin Street in
  • south; from Boundary Road, border with Vancouver, in west to Sperling Avenue/Kensington Avenue in east.
  • Waterfront activities along Burrard Inlet include oil refineries and bulk loading plants.
  • In 2006 census, immigration population was 45%.
  • Visible minority population was 50.6% - 30% Chinese; 7% South Asian.


  • In 2000 redistribution, kept most of riding; added areas from Burnaby-Edmonds and Burnaby-Willingdon.
  • In 2008 redistribution, kept 86% of riding; added 7% Burnaby-Willingdon.

Political History

  • New Democrat Eileen Dailly won in 1966, 1969, 1972, 1975, 1979, 1983; served as Minister of Education; Acting President of the Council.
  • New Democrat Barry Jones won in 1986 and 1991.
  • In 1996, New Democrat Pietro Calendino defeated Liberal Richard Lee by 766 votes.
  • In 2001, Lee defeated Calendino by 5,070 votes.
  • In 2005, Lee again defeated Calendino, this time by 65 votes.