Results, Ridings & Candidates

Alberni-Pacific Rim

2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 111/111 polls
NDP Scott Kenneth Fraser 10,007 Elected
LIB Dianne St. Jacques 5,373
GRN Paul Musgrave 1,250
BCR Dallas Kenneth Jack Hills 232

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





7,197 votes | 44.69%

8,908 votes | 55.31%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

107/111 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • Centrally located on Vancouver Island's west coast; stretches from Strathcona Park in north to Carmanah-Walbran Provincial Park in SE.
  • Riding includes Port Alberni, Ucluelet, Tofino, Clayoquot, Dunsmuir and Bamfield as well as southern part of Parksville (south of Island Highway) which is in NE corner.
  • Riding also has many native reserves: in 2006 census, aboriginal population was 13%; predominantly working class riding relying on forestry, manufacturing and fishing as well as tourism for employment.


  • In 2000 redistribution, riding was created from all of Alberni and part of Parksville-Qualicum ridings.
  • In 2008, riding became Alberni-Pacific Rim; kept 80% Alberni-Qualicum; added area of Nanaimo-Parksville.

Political History

  • Alberni: New Democrat Bob Skelly won in 1972, 1975, 1979, 1983 and 1986; was New Democratic Party leader between 1984 to 1987.
  • New Democrat Gerard Janssen was elected in November 1988 byelection after Skelly resigned
  • In 1991, Janssen defeated Social Credit Party Gillian Trumper by 3,471 votes; in 1996, Janssen defeated Trumper, representing the Liberals, by 2,299 votes; served Minister of Small Business, Tourism and Culture.
  • Alberni-Qualicum/Alberni-Pacific Rim (2008: 99% Alberni-Qualicum; 1% Nanaimo-Parksville): In 2001, Trumper defeated Janssen by 5,714 votes.
  • In 2005, New Democrat Scott Fraser defeated Trumper by 4,200 votes.