Results, Ridings & Candidates

Abbotsford South

2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 121/122 polls
LIB John van Dongen 9,513 Elected
NDP Bonnie Jasiver Rai 3,874
GRN Daniel Stephen Bryce 1,193
CON Gurcharan Dhaliwal 959
IND Tim Lee Felger 196

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





3,695 votes | 28.13%

9,441 votes | 71.87%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

106/122 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • A new Fraser Valley riding which contains that part of Abbotsford between Boundary Road (U.S. border) in south and Trans-Canada Highway/Old Yale Road/McKee Road/Dawson Road/boundary of Sumas Mountain Regional Park in the north; between 276 Street (border with Langley) in west and Vedder River and Boundary Road (border with Chilliwack) in east.
  • Abbotsford Airport, Matsqui Institution and Upper Sumas IR6 are in the riding.
  • Riding has a broad cross-section of agriculture and agri-business but manufacturing (12%) is main industry.
  • In 2006 census, visible minority population was 20.36% (13% South Asian); 11% gave Punjab as mother tongue.


  • Riding created in 2008, redistribution from: 42% Abbotsford-Clayburn; 34% Abbotsford-Mount Lehman; 19% Chilliwack-Sumas.

Political History

  • Abbotsford-Clayburn: In 2001, Liberal John van Dongen won in Abbotsford in May 3, 1995 byel and in 1996 won by 10,488; was appointed Minister of Agriculture, Food and Fisheries from June 5, 2001 to Jan. 27, 2003; stepped aside while under police investigation relating to his handling of a fish-farm licence in fall of 2001; returned to Cabinet on April 3, 2003 after a special prosecutor said his conduct did not warrant criminal charges.
  • In 2005, van Dongen defeated New Democrat Michael Nenn by 5,492 votes; appointed Minister of State for Intergovernmental Relations on June 16, 2005; was appointed Acting Minister of Public Safety and Solicitor General on April 1, 2008; became Minister of Public Safety and Solicitor General on June 23, 2008. Abbotsford-Mount Lehman: In 2001, Liberal Michael de Jong won in Matsqui in February 1994 byelection and in 1996 won here by 10,229; was appointed Minister of Forests on June 5, 2001;
  • In 2005, de JONG defeated New Democrat Tarajit Purewal by 5,193 votes; was appointed Minister of Labour and Citizens' Services on June 16, 2005; became government House Leader since June 16, 2005; was appointed Minister of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation on Aug. 15, 2006.