Results, Ridings & Candidates


2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 120/120 polls
LIB Randy Hawes 9,771 Elected
NDP Lynn Perrin 5,343
GRN Bill Walsh 1,467

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





5,069 votes | 31.05%

11,254 votes | 68.95%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

120/120 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


A new Fraser Valley riding which has Old Yale Road as boundary in SE and then runs north in Fraser Valley Regional District.

  • It takes in eastern and central part of Abbotsford (area north of Gladwin Road/Clayburn Road/Highway 11/Old Yale Road/McKee Road/Dawson Road) as well as part of Mission (area east of Lougheed Highway/Cedar Street/Trunk Road/Stave Lake Street).
  • Riding includes the Ferndale Institution and the Mission Institution as well as Skweahm IR10, Squawkum Creek IR3, Papekwatchin IR4 and Lakahahmen IR11; aboriginal population in 2006 census was 4.7%.
  • The Hatzic, Yaalstrick and Queens islands are also here.


  • Riding created in 2008, redistribution from: 37% Abbotsford-Clayburn; 34% Maple Ridge-Mission; 17% Chilliwack-Sumas.

Political History

  • Abbotsford-Clayburn: In 2001, Liberal John van Dongen won in Abbotsford in May 3, 1995 byelection and in 1996 won by 10,488; was appointed Minister of Agriculture, Food and Fisheries from June 5, 2001 to Jan. 27, 2003; stepped aside while under police investigation relating to his handling of a fish-farm licence in fall of 2001; returned to Cabinet April 3, 2003 after a special prosecutor said his conduct did not warrant criminal charges.
  • In 2005, van Dongen defeated New Democrat Michael Nenn by 5,492 votes; was appointed Minister of State for Intergovernmental Relations on June 16, 2005; was appointed Acting Minister of Public Safety and Solicitor General on April 1, 2008; became Minister of Public Safety and Solicitor General on June 23, 2008.
  • Maple Ridge-Mission: In 2001, Liberal Randy Hawes defeated New Democrat Rose Bennett by 8,210 votes; in 2005, Hawes defeated New Democrat Jenny Stevens by 199 votes.