ScotiaBank Gillers
20 Years of the Scotiabank Giller Prize: A Digital Retrospective

Previous Winners - Previous Previous Winners - Next
Alice Munro 2004
One year after M.G. Vassanji became the first repeat Scotiabank Giller Prize winner, Alice Munro became the second. Her short story collection Runaway was described by the jury (Charlotte Gray, Alistair MacLeod and Vassanji himself) as "haunting" and "told with unflinching honesty, in a language precise and informed, yet beautifully simple, whose meanings taunt the mind long after we have finished them."

In the interview clip below, Munro reflects back with The Arts Tonight about her early days working in a bookstore in Victoria, and her development into one of Canada's most renowned writers.

Download Flash Player to view this content.

2004 Shortlist:

Alice Munro - Runaway
Shauna Singh Baldwin - The Tiger Claw
Wayson Choy - All That Matters
Pauline Holdstock - Beyond Measure
Paul Quarrington - Galveston
Miriam Toews - A Complicated Kindness

Photo: CP