ScotiaBank Gillers
20 Years of the Scotiabank Giller Prize: A Digital Retrospective

Previous Winners - Previous Previous Winners - Next
M. G. Vassanji 2003
M.G. Vassanji made history when he won the inaugural Giller Prize in 1994 for The Book of Secrets. Nearly a decade later, he made history again when he became the prize's first repeat winner for The In-Between World of Vikram Lall.

The novel sheds light on the racial tension in Kenya, where Vassanji was born, during the Mau Mau rebellion of the mid-1950s.

In modestly Canadian fashion, Vassanji said that winning his second Giller "feels like a mistake ... It felt like a mistake the first time and so this time obviously it's a mistake. I'll accept it in any case."

A few weeks after the excitement of the big win, Vassanji stopped by the studios of All in a Day to reflect on his achievement (and what he did with the prize money) and discuss The In-Between World of Vikram Lall.

Download Flash Player to view this content.

2003 Shortlist:

M.G. Vassanji - The In-Between World of Vikram Lall
Margaret Atwood - Oryx and Crake
John Bemrose - The Island Walkers
John Gould - Kilter: 55 Fictions
Ann-Marie MacDonald -
The Way the Crow Flies 

Photo: CP