ScotiaBank Gillers
20 Years of the Scotiabank Giller Prize: A Digital Retrospective

Previous Winners - Previous Previous Winners - Next
Richard B. Wright 2001
Richard B. Wright is another writer for whom the second time was the charm. He was a Giller finalist in 1995 for The Age of Longing, which lost out to Rohinton Mistry's A Fine Balance. But Wright's Clara Callan, the story of two sisters whose lives take very different paths, won the 2001 jury over.

In his acceptance speech, Wright appeared genuinely surprised to win. "Since I didn't expect to win I didn't prepare any response to this. If you don't mind I'll just stand here for a few minutes and hyperventilate."

Did You Know?

Wright's first published book was a children's mystery titled Andrew Tolliver.

2001 Shortlist:

Richard B. Wright - Clara Callan
Sandra Birdsell - The Russlander
Michael Crummey - River Thieves
Michael Redhill - Martin Sloane
Timothy Taylor - Stanley Park
Jane Urquhart - The Stone Carvers

Photo: CP