ScotiaBank Gillers
20 Years of the Scotiabank Giller Prize: A Digital Retrospective

Previous Winners - Previous Previous Winners - Next
Michael Ondaatje and David Adams Richards - 2000
In an unprecedented outcome, the 2000 jury (Margaret Atwood, Alistair MacLeod, and Jane Urquhart) ultimately couldn't choose between finalists Michael Ondaatje for Anil's Ghost and David Adams Richards for Mercy Among the Children, so the authors were announced as co-victors!

They each received cheques for $25,000, with Jack Rabinovitch saying that people who tie for a gold medal, each get a gold medal - not half a medal.

Subsequent juries have been asked to select only one winner, so the 2000 edition of the prize will remain the only year the Scotiabank Giller Prize crowned two champions.

In this archived audio clip, Richards, fresh off his Giller win, discusses Mercy Among the Children with CBC's Eleanor Wachtel.

Download Flash Player to view this content.

As well, we have a vintage interview with Ondaatje about Anil's Ghost on the Arts Today.

Download Flash Player to view this content.

2000 Shortlist:

Michael Ondaatje - Anil's Ghost
David Adams Richards - Mercy Among the Children
Alan Cumyn - Burridge Unbound
Elizabeth Hay - A Student of Weather
Eden Robinson - Monkey Beach
Fred Stenson - The Trade

Photo: CP