ScotiaBank Gillers
20 Years of the Scotiabank Giller Prize: A Digital Retrospective

Previous Winners - Previous Previous Winners - Next
Alice Munro 1998
Ontario-born Alice Munro's The Love of a Good Woman became the first short story collection to the win the Scotiabank Giller Prize. The competition was stiff as well, with the shortlist featuring six authors for the first time.

Did You Know?

Alice Munro, born Alice Laidlaw in 1931, is a relative of Scottish poet and novelist James Hogg. 

1998 Shortlist:

Alice Munro - The Love of a Good Woman
André Alexis - Childhood
Gail Anderson-Dargatz - A Recipe for Bees
Barbara Gowdy - The White Bone
Greg Hollingshead - The Healer
Wayne Johnston - The Colony of Unrequited Dreams

Photo: CP