ScotiaBank Gillers
20 Years of the Scotiabank Giller Prize: A Digital Retrospective

Previous Winners - Previous Previous Winners - Next
Margaret Atwood 1996
The iconic Margaret Atwood won the Scotiabank Giller Prize for her novel Alias Grace, the tale of a 16-year-old housemaid accused in the double murder of her employer and his housekeeper-mistress in 19th century Toronto. It was based on a real-life 1843 murder.

In this clip below, the then 56-year-old writer told CBC News she genuinely didn't expect to receive the award, partly because she was "getting up there in years." Well, apparently no one told her to slow down. Now in her 70s, Atwood is as prolific as ever and has been awarded several more major literary awards since her Giller win.

Download Flash Player to view this content.

1996 Shortlist:

Margaret Atwood - Alias Grace
Gail Anderson-Dargatz - The Cure for Death by Lightning
Ann-Marie MacDonald - Fall on Your Knees
Anne Michaels - Fugitive Pieces
Guy Vanderhaeghe - The Englishman's Boy

Photo: CBC