ScotiaBank Gillers

1994: Jack Rabinovitch on creating the Giller Prize

To commemorate the life of literary journalist Doris Giller and to celebrate Canadian fiction, her husband Jack Rabinovitch founded the Giller Prize in 1994. The prestigious award, known as the Scotiabank Giller Prize since 2005, is the richest fiction prize in Canada and has been awarded to prominent wordsmiths like Alice Munro and M.G. Vassanji, as well as up-and-coming talents like Johanna Skibsrud and Esi Edugyan.

In this video clip, we'll go back to the very beginning, even before the first award was handed out. Jack Rabinovitch explains his decision to start a Canadian fiction prize and what he hopes to achieve with it.

Download Flash Player to view this content.

CBC News Indepth: Doris Giller
Comments are closed.