Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize 2012

hilary-weston-writers-trust-90.jpgEach year, the prestigious Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction recognizes literary excellence in nonfiction writing, including personal or journalistic essays, history, biography, memoirs or commentary. This year, CBC Books teamed up with the Writers' Trust to bring you special content and coverage. Learn more about the finalists' books and about the winner!


Congratulations to Candace Savage!

example.jpgThe author of A Geography of Blood has won this year's $60,000 award! She spoke to CBC Books about her winning book.

Read more

Candace talked to CBC's The Morning Edition about winning the Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction.

Download Flash Player to view this content.

How to judge a book

The CBC Live crew speak to jurors Barbara Amiel and Seamus O'Regan about what makes an award-winning books.

Shortlisted authors at IFOA
On Sunday, October 21, the five finalists for the 2012 Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction gathered at the International Festival of Authors in Toronto to discuss the art and science of non-fiction storytelling. The discussion turned into a debate about the difference, if any, between fact and truth in both journalism and memoir. You can listen to the conversation in the audio clip below.