How to tune into the 2017 Scotiabank Giller Prize

The gala will air on CBC Radio and CBC TV and be livestreamed on CBC Books on Nov. 20, 2017.
The 2017 Scotiabank Giller Prize shortlist, from left: Rachel Cusk, Ed O'Loughlin, Michael Redhill, Eden Robinson and Michelle Winters. (Rachel Cusk/Nuala Haughey/Canadian Press/Chris Young/Invisible Publishing)

Who will win the 2017 Scotiabank Giller Prize? The $100,000 prize is the richest in Canadian literature. The winner will be chosen at a gala event hosted by Mary Walsh on Monday, Nov. 20, 2017.

Here's how you can tune in!

ON TV: CBC TV will broadcast the gala at 8 p.m. local time (12:30 a.m. AT/1:00 a.m. NT).

ONLINE: CBC Books will livestream the gala at 8 p.m. ET.

ON THE RADIO: CBC Radio will air a broadcast special hosted by The Next Chapter host Shelagh Rogers and q columnist Jael Richardson at 8 p.m. (9 p.m. AT/9:30 p.m. NT).

This year's finalists are:

The 2017 jury includes Canadian writers Anita Rau Badami, André Alexis and Lynn Coady, American writer Nathan Englander and British author Richard Beard.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.