Christine Elliott, Anne Giardini and James Polk to judge $30K RBC Taylor Prize

The RBC Taylor Prize is given to the best in Canadian literary nonfiction. The winner will be revealed in February 2018.
Anne Giardini, James Polk and Christine Elliott are the jurors for the 2018 RBC Taylor Prize. (RBC Taylor Prize)

Anne Giardini, James Polk and Christine Elliott will judge the 2018 RBC Taylor Prize.

The $30,000 prize, awarded since 2002 and annually since 2004, recognizes the best in Canadian literary nonfiction.

Giardini is the chancellor at Simon Fraser University and author of the novels The Sad Truth About Happiness and Advice for Italian Boys. Her most recent book is Startle and Illuminate, a collaboration with her son Nicholas that collects writing advice from her late mother, Carol Shields.

Polk is a former editorial director of House of Anansi Press, where he edited Charles Taylor and Margaret Atwood, and advisor at the Ontario Ministry of Culture.

Elliott is currently Ontario's patient ombudsman. She served as an Ontario MPP from 2006 to 2015.

The 2018 RBC Taylor Prize longlist will be released on Dec. 6, 2017, followed by the shortlist on Jan. 10, 2018. The winner will be announced on Feb. 26, 2018.

 The 2017 winner was Ross King for Mad Enchantment — a biography that delves into the brilliant but troubled mind of Claude Monet and tells the fascinating story behind the artist's famous water lily paintings.

Other past winners include Rosemary Sullivan for Stalin's Daughter, Plum Johnson for They Left Us Everything and Thomas King for The Inconvenient Indian.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.