CBCBooks on  Twitter CBCBooks on Facebook

CBC Short Story Prize: 2015 longlist

The next winner of the CBC Short Story Prize was chosen from this list of 26 writers below.

Each one had a shot of winning the 2015 Grand Prize: $6,000 from the Canada Council for the Arts, publication in Air Canada's enRoute magazine and a ten-day writing residency at The Banff Centre. Four others were named runners-up and walked away with $1,000 each.

Click here to find out who the 2015 winner and finalists were.

Find out more about this year’s crop of writers by clicking on their individual profiles below.

It's now up to the jury: two-time Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize winner Caroline Adderson, 2014 Scotiabank Giller Prize winner Sean Michaels and 2014 Writers' Trust Engel/Findley Award winner Joan Thomas. The winner and runners-up will be announced on April 13th.

To find out who made the longlist for the Prix de la nouvelle radio-canada, click here.


Blind Date

Butchering Day

Congo River, County Antrim

Dawson City, YT


Fall of the High Flyers

Heat Wave

His Tourists


Mountain Under Sea

Mule Deer

Only Her

Rasputin's Song


River's Edge

Sandy Sampson


The Castle

The Children

The Pool

The River of Running Sand

The Undivided Heart of the Forty-Day Father

Uncle Ray's Tattoos

Vlog #43

Windmill Facial