CBCBooks on  Twitter CBCBooks on Facebook

2014 CBC Poetry Prize longlist announced

Thirty-eight Canadian writers are on the longlist for the 2014 CBC Poetry Prize

One of them will walk away with the Grand Prize: $6,000 from the Canada Council for the Arts, publication in Air Canada's enRoute magazine, and a writing residency at The Banff Centre. Four other finalists will receive $1,000 each. 

CBC Poetry Prize branding.jpg
The longlisted works of poetry are (in alphabetical order by author):

  • “Lady Fallen to Earth” by Julia Aleynikova (New Westminster, BC)
  • “Fulcrum, Too” by Lori Armstrong (Minden, ON)
  • “I am & C: The Gilbert White Poems” by Julie Berry (St. Thomas, ON)
  • “Sandbagging the River Before the Flood” by Stephen Brockwell (Ottawa, ON)
  • “The Breaks” by Susan Buis (Knutsford, BC)
  • “Passage” by Karla Cornett (Kawartha Lakes, ON)
  • “Kids” by Mark Callanan (St. John's, NL)
  • “Blue at the Heart of Being” by Lorna Crozier (N. Saanic, BC)
  • “The Archeologist and the Roofer” by Barry Dempster (Holland Landing, ON)
  • “A Tuition of Time” by Susan Elmslie (Montreal, ON)
  • “Black Tulips: A Family Reunion” by Heiderose Garnett (Kelowna, BC)
  • “A Windless December Day” by Surya Govender (Vancouver, BC)
  • “Settler Education” by Laurie D. Graham (London, ON)
  • “Wolf” by Keith Hunt (Sarnia, ON)
  • “Improvisations” by Jim Joyce (Pointe Claire, QC)
  • “Coda” by Basma Kavanagh (Brandon, MB)
  • “Burnt Pot, Riverbank, Indifferent Sky” by Cynthia Woodman Kerkham (Victoria, BC)
  • “Rooms” by Katherine Lawrence (Regina, SK)
  • “Before We Knew Our Loss” by Sharon Lax (Deux-Montagnes, QC)
  • “Two poems: On Juvenile Delinquency and Unbending” by Annick MacAskill (London, ON)
  • “Tar Swan” by David Martin (Calgary, AB)
  • “Four Meditations on Edward Burtynksy” by Emily McGiffin (York, ON)
  • “Washing out the Horse's Mouth” by Andy McGuire (Grand Bend, ON)
  • “Magic Van and Self-Portrait as Archaic Torso” by Steve McOrmond (Toronto, ON)
  • “Bindled Back: Three Travel Poems” by Jacob McArthur Mooney (Toronto, ON)
  • “Coyote Medicine/Medicine Coyote” by Alessandra Naccarato (Toronto, ON) 
  • “City with Animals” by Jim Nason (Toronto, ON)
  • “As we Bend” by Emily Nilsen (Nelson, BC)
  • “Three Poems” by Emily Nilsen (Nelson, BC)
  • “My Purple Daughter” by Candice O'Grady (Toronto, ON)
  • “Blow ye Winds” by Ruth Pierson (Toronto, ON)
  • “Winter's Passing” by Leena Rahusaar (Uxbridge, ON)
  • “The Art of Weaving” by Harold Rhenisch (Vernon, BC)
  • “Go by Contraries” by Robin Richardson (Mississauga, ON)
  • “Keying in the Promise” by Linda Rogers (Victoria, BC)
  • “Chihuly's Mille Fiori” by Ellie Sawatzky (Vancouver, BC)
  • “The Boy Next Door” by Ellie Sawatzky (Vancouver, BC)
  • “St. Rita; Epilogue; A Haiku” by Paddy Scott (Trenton, ON)
  • “One Afternoon a Woman” by Evelyn Tan (Ottawa, ON)
  • “Peredelkino 1956-1960” by Kim Trainor (Vancouver, BC)

The readers for the 2014 CBC Poetry Prize were Jordan Abel, Jenna  Butler, Margaret Christakos, Brad Cran, Cyril Dabydeen, Marilyn Gear-Pilling, Lorri Neilsen Glenn, Jason Guriel, Tanis Rideout and Matthew Tierney.

The winner of the 2014 CBC Poetry Prize was announced on Monday, September 22. Click here to find out who won.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Submission Policy

Note: The CBC does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comments, you acknowledge that CBC has the right to reproduce, broadcast and publicize those comments or any part thereof in any manner whatsoever. Please note that comments are moderated and published according to our submission guidelines.