CBCBooks on  Twitter CBCBooks on Facebook

CBC Creative Nonfiction Prize

2014 CBC Creative Nonfiction Prize: And the winner is...

CBC’s Canada Writes—along with our partners the Canada Council for the Arts, Air Canada's enRoute magazine and The Banff Centre—is pleased to announce the winner of the CBC Creative Nonfiction Prize. 

The Grand Prize winner is Patti-Kay Hamilton of Fort Smith, NT. Her nonfiction story, "The Hunter and The Swan", was selected from more than 1,800 stories received from across the country. Congratulations Patti-Kay! 

The jury for this year's prize was composed of writers Carolyn Abraham, Denise Chong, and David Macfarlane. They described her story as follows: 

“Written with economy and a subtle pulse of drama, ‘The Hunter and the Swan’ vividly captures the raw beauty of the north. Its mood is meditative and its narrative taut, and yet, without ever losing its direction, its richness of information supports the writer’s command of subject and confident authority.”

Patti-Kay Hamilton was born in Sault Ste. Marie and grew up in Pembroke and Toronto. Upon graduating from the University of Guelph, she headed north where she got a job as a radio journalist at CBC North, working to share the stories of the northern people for more than 30 years. Since retiring three years ago, Hamilton has been published in Up Here Magazine and Coming Home, the first anthology of work by writers of the Northwest Territories. 

The four runners-up for the CBC Creative Nonfiction Prize are Jennifer Clark (Calgary, AB) for "February," Brandee Eubank (New Brigden, AB) for "Some Distant World," Sarah Habben (St. Albert, AB) for "Where I Am From," and Patricia Webb (Port Moody, BC) for "Second Time Around." Each runner-up will receive $1,000 from the Canada Council for the Arts.

The French Grand Prize winner was also announced this morning. Joanne Morency of Marie, QC won the Prix du récit Radio-Canada for her story “Tes lunettes sans ton regard.” More information can be found at ICI.Radio-canada.ca/litterature.

Both winners will be recognized at an event this week at The Banff Centre. This special evening, which is hosted by Ian Brown and features readings by writers in The Banff Centre's Literary Journalism program, is open to the public and will take place on Thursday, July 31 at 7:30 p.m. at the Kinnear Centre.

Canada Writes would like to extend a hearty congratulations to our winners. And thank you to everyone who participated!


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Submission Policy

Note: The CBC does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comments, you acknowledge that CBC has the right to reproduce, broadcast and publicize those comments or any part thereof in any manner whatsoever. Please note that comments are moderated and published according to our submission guidelines.

set count down final date: 11/01/2014
set count up final date: 11/01/2014
show ENTER NOW menu 0