CBCBooks on  Twitter CBCBooks on Facebook

CBC Short Story Prize

2014 CBC Short Story Prize: And the winner is...

CBC’s Canada Writes—along with our partners the Canada Council for the Arts, Air Canada's enRoute magazine and The Banff Centre—is pleased to announce the winner of the CBC Short Story Prize. 

There is one Grand Prize winner and four runners-up in each language.


JaneHamilton Photo credit Susan Buie.jpg
In English, the Grand Prize winner is Jane Eaton Hamilton of Vancouver, BC for “Smiley”. Her story was selected from over 3,200 received from across the country. 

The jury was comprised of writers Helen Humphreys, Colin McAdam and Kathleen Winter. They described her story as follows: 

“Original and alive, ‘Smiley’ is the story of a Cape Town girl's identity crisis, her search for self within her family and nature. With precise language and evocative imagery, the story manages to convey many times the weight of its chosen words.”

Jane is the author of seven books, including two volumes of short fiction. She has been included in the Journey Prize Anthology, Best Canadian Short Stories, and has been cited in the Best American Short Stories. She has twice won the Prism International Short Fiction Competition and was shortlisted for the 2014 prize. Jane is also a former CBC Short Story Prize winner (2003).

Jane will receive $6,000 from the Canada Council for the Arts, and her prize-winning story will be published in the April edition of enRoute Magazine. She will also receive a two-week writing residency at The Banff Centre.

The French Grand Prize winner was also announced this morning: Sarah Desrosiers of Montreal, QC for her story “Un entrefilet”. More information can be found at ICI.Radio-canada.ca/litterature.

The English and French winners will be recognized and read from their work at the Blue Metropolis Montreal International Literary Festival on Saturday, May 3.


The four runners-up for the CBC Short Story Prize are:

The four runners-up for the Prix de nouvelle Radio-Canada are:

  • Mireille Beaulieu of Quebec City, QC for “La tare des lambeaux
  • Corinne Charotton of Mount Forest, ON for “L’homme
  • Geneviève Blouin of La Prairie, QC for “Certaines oublieront leurs boucles d'oreille
  • Mathieu Lachance of Prévost, QC for “L’honneur des houris

Each runner-up will receive $1,000 from the Canada Council for the Arts. All English stories are available to be read on the Canada Writes website. 

Canada Writes would like to extend a hearty congratulations to all of our winners. And thank you to everyone who participated!

Photo credit: Susan Buie


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Submission Policy

Note: The CBC does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comments, you acknowledge that CBC has the right to reproduce, broadcast and publicize those comments or any part thereof in any manner whatsoever. Please note that comments are moderated and published according to our submission guidelines.

set count down final date: 11/01/2014
set count up final date: 11/01/2014
show ENTER NOW menu 0