CBCBooks on  Twitter CBCBooks on Facebook

Creative Nonfiction Prize

CBC Creative Nonfiction Prize: And the winner is...

Canada Writes, along with our partners the Canada Council for the ArtsAir Canada's enRoute magazine and The Banff Centre, are happy to announce the winners of the 2013 CBC Creative Nonfiction Prize / Prix du récit Radio-Canada.
There is one Grand Prize winner and four runners-up in each language. Winners were selected from over 2,700 stories received from across the country. 


In English, The Grand Prize winner is Mo Srivastava of Toronto, ON for "The Gods of Scrabble". 

The jury was comprised of writers Ross King, JJ Lee, and Jan Wong. They had this to say about his story:

"Writing a short work of creative nonfiction is a difficult task—reflection, telling detail, compelling events and memorable characters must fit into a very small space. When it works, however, it is a rewarding read.
'The Gods of Scrabble' offers a cross-cultural, intergenerational vignette colliding over the battleground of a board game. Like the clacking tiles shifting on each player's rack, the author sorts through languages and racial, gender, and age stereotypes.

Self-deprecating, surprising, and told with great humour, this entry lands the triple word score."

Mo Srivastava describes himself as a dad, a geologist and a statistician; many others know him as the man who cracked Ontario’s scratch lottery code. At 50, he decided to start writing. “The Gods of Scrabble” is his first published story. 

Mo Srivastava will receive $6,000 from the Canada Council for the Arts, and his prizewinning story will be published in the August edition of enRoute Magazine. He will also receive a two-week residency at The Banff Centre’s Leighton Artists’ Colony. 

The French-language winner was also announced this morning. The winner of the Prix du récit Radio-Canada is Esteban Gonzalez for "Ramona". His story can be read at http://www.radio-canada.ca/litterature.

The English and French winners will be celebrated this week at The Banff Summer Arts Festival. CBC Radio’s Russell Bowers will be on hand to introduce the winners at a public event that will also feature readings from the writers in The Banff Centre’s Literary Journalism program. This special evening, which is hosted by Ian Brown, is open to the public and takes place on Thursday, July 25 at 7:30 p.m. at the Kinnear Centre.


The four runners-up for the CBC Creative Nonfiction Prize are:

Each runner-up will receive $1,000 from the Canada Council for the Arts. 

Canada Writes would like to extend a hearty congratulations to all of our winners. And thank you to everyone who participated!

The next cycle of prizes opens on September 1st with the Short Story Competition.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Submission Policy

Note: The CBC does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comments, you acknowledge that CBC has the right to reproduce, broadcast and publicize those comments or any part thereof in any manner whatsoever. Please note that comments are moderated and published according to our submission guidelines.

set count down final date: 11/01/2014
set count up final date: 11/01/2014
show ENTER NOW menu 0