CBCBooks on  Twitter CBCBooks on Facebook

Poetry Prize

Meet the jury for the CBC Poetry Prize

Next week we will be revealing the winner of the 2011-2012 Poetry Prize. But before we do that we'd like to introduce you to the three talented poets who determined this year's shortlist (and chose the winner).

Presenting the three jury members for the 2011-2012 CBC Poetry Prize:
Julie Bruck-cr Kara Schleunes.jpg
Julie Bruck
A Montreal native, Julie Bruck has lived in San Francisco since 1997. She has published three collections with Brick Books, Monkey Ranch (2012), The End of Travel (1999), and The Woman Downstairs (1993). Her poems have appeared in many Canadian and U.S. magazines, including The New Yorker, Maisonneuve, The Walrus, Ploughshares, The Malahat Review and Ms, and she's had fellowships from the MacDowell Colony, the Canada Council, and the Sustainable Arts Foundation. Since 2005, Julie has taught workshops at The Writing Salon in San Francisco's Mission district, and tutored students at the University of San Francisco.

Photo credit: Kara Schleunes

Thumbnail image for Patrick Lane.jpg
Patrick Lane
Patrick Lane lives near Victoria on Vancouver Island with his wife, Lorna Crozier, and their two cats, Roxy and Basho. He has published more than twenty-five books of poetry, fiction, and non-fiction and has won many awards and prizes.  His Collected Poems came out in the autumn of 2011 from Harbour Publishing.  


Dennis Lee
Dennis Lee has published more than twenty books of poetry for adults and children, the most recent being Testament (Anansi, 2012). He was Toronto's first poet laureate, and is currently a resident artist at the Young Centre, home of Soulpepper Theatre in Toronto

Comments are closed.

set count down final date: 11/01/2014
set count up final date: 11/01/2014
show ENTER NOW menu 0