CBCBooks on  Twitter CBCBooks on Facebook

Poetry Prize

CBC Poetry Prize: The finalists

CBC’s Canada Writes—with our partners the Canada Council for the Arts, Air Canada's enRoute magazine and The Banff Centre—is pleased to announce today the finalists for the CBC Poetry Prize / Prix du poésie Radio-Canada.  

The English and French texts were selected by a jury from over 2,300 poems that were received from across the country. 

The five English-language finalists are (alphabetically):

To find out the French-language finalists, please visit Zone d'écriture

Winner announcement
The Grand Prize winner, as selected by the CBC Poetry Jury, will be announced on Tuesday, September 25. Jury members this year are writers Julie Bruck, Patrick Lane and Dennis Lee.

In addition to a cash prize of $6,000 from the Canada Council for the Arts, the Grand Prize winner will receive a writing residency at The Banff Centre and will be published in Air Canada’s enRoute magazine. The other finalists will each receive $1,000 from the Canada Council for the Arts, and will be published right here on Canada Writes. 

Good luck to all five finalists, and thanks to all who participated this year!

«Read the other shortlisted entries


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Submission Policy

Note: The CBC does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comments, you acknowledge that CBC has the right to reproduce, broadcast and publicize those comments or any part thereof in any manner whatsoever. Please note that comments are moderated and published according to our submission guidelines.

set count down final date: 11/01/2014
set count up final date: 11/01/2014
show ENTER NOW menu 0