CBCBooks on  Twitter CBCBooks on Facebook

Creative Nonfiction Prize

CBC Creative Nonfiction Prize: And the winner is...

Canada Writes, with our partners the Canada Council for the Arts, Air Canada's enRoute magazine and The Banff Centre, are pleased to announce the Grand Prize winner of the CBC Creative Nonfiction Prize

Out of the more than 3,000 entries sent in to the competition, one Grand Prize winner and three finalists were chosen in English.

The Grand Prize winner is…

Hilary Dean.jpg
Hilary Dean (Toronto, ON) for “Holy Bald-Headed

The jury was comprised of Canadian writers Charles Foran, Charlotte Gill and Marina Nemat. Said the jury of her story:

“Holy Bald-Headed breaks your heart.  It tells of a grandfather, a car, and a terrible thing that happens to a teenage girl.  Written with great economy and direct, unsparing prose, the story is in equal parts tender and brutal, an inspired portrait of the sadness and outrage of life.”

Hilary Dean will receive $6,000 from the Canada Council for the Arts, and her prizewinning story will be published in the August edition of enRoute Magazine. Hilary will also receive a two-week residency at The Banff Centre’s Leighton Artists’ Colony and be interviewed on CBC’s The Next Chapter with Shelagh Rogers in the fall. 

Hilary Dean has been published in This Magazine and shortlisted once for The Journey Prize. She has an MFA in Documentary Media from Ryerson University and is the director of the film So You’re Going Crazy... “Holy Bald-Headed” is an excerpt from her current work in progress, a memoir of mental illness and recovery.  

To find out the winner of the Prix du récit Radio-Canada, our French-language nonfiction prize, please visit Zone d'écriture.

The English and French winners will be celebrated this week at The Banff Summer Arts Festival. CBC Radio’s Russell Bowers will be on hand to introduce the English winner at a public event that will also feature readings from the nine writers in The Banff Centre’s Literary Journalism program. This special evening, which is hosted by Ian Brown, is open to the public and takes place on Thursday, July 26 at 7:30 p.m. at the Kinnear Centre.

Other finalists

Three other writers were named finalists by the jury. They are: 

Cornelia Hoogland (Hornby Island, BC) for “Sea Level
Judy McFarlane (Vancouver, BC) for “After, and Before
Brendan McLeod (Vancouver, BC) for “Psychosomatic

Each runner-up will receive $1,000 from the Canada Council for the Arts. All stories are available to be read on the Canada Writes website. 

Congratulations everyone! The next CBC literary competition will be in the Short Story category. It opens on September 1, 2012.

Comments are closed.

set count down final date: 11/01/2014
set count up final date: 11/01/2014
show ENTER NOW menu 0