CBCBooks on  Twitter CBCBooks on Facebook

Creative Nonfiction Prize

Creative Nonfiction Prize: the longlist

We received more than 2,100 submissions to our Creative Nonfiction competition. 

Here are the 32works on the longlist for the 2011-2012 prize (alphabetical by author).

The Year of Falling Apart by Leslie Beckmann (North Vancouver, BC)
My Friend Super J by Sarabi Berti (Minden, ON)
Train to Buchans by John Blackmore (Ottawa, ON)
Unwrapped by Caitlin Crawshaw (Edmonton, AB)
Two Nights, Three Trucks by Ben Crompton (Vancouver, BC)
Luminescence by Diana Davidson (Edmonton, AB)
Holy Bald-Headed by Hilary Dean (Toronto, ON)
Is He Yours? by Jennifer Edwards (Toronto, ON)
Monkeys’ Wedding by Cathy Hannick (Roberts Creek, BC)
Mike by Karl R. Hearne (Montreal, QC)
Sea Level by Cornelia Hoogland (London, ON)
Kiss It Better by Gitanjali Kolanad (Toronto, ON)
Jimmy Smiles at Everyone by Garry Leeson (Kingston, NS)
The Heat and the Light by Rebecca MacPhee (Montreal, QC)
The Gillnetter by William Marach (Decta, BC)
Firstborn by B.A. Markus (Montreal, QC)
After, And Before by Judy McFarlane (Vancouver, BC)
Psychosomatic by Brendan McLeod (Vancouver, BC)
Cutting Wood with J. Alfred Prufrock by Steven Monaghan (Lambton Shores, ON)
Long Distance by Ben Murray (Edmonton, AB)
Heron Triptych: Before, During, After by Caroline Balderston Parry (Ottawa, ON)
Temp by Elise Partridge (Vancouver, BC)
Sweetbriar by E. Alex Pierce (Sable River, NS)
On the Coromandal Coast by Shelagh Plunkett (Montreal, QC)
Summer by Joanna Rance (Armstrong, BC)
Twenty Thousand Stitches by Leah Seltzer (Manson's Landing, BC)
Floored by Jean Sheppard (Toronto, ON)
The Man Who Invented Journalism by Judith Timson (Toronto, ON)
A Story by Karen Vogel (Schomberg, ON)
To Laugh or Cry by Aliza Weller (Cambridge Bay, NU)
Liberation by Kristen Wesenberg (Cochrane, AB)
Almost Home Again by Terence Young (Victoria, BC)
This year’s readers were Marian Botsford Fraser, Valerie Compton, Andris Taskans, Kaitlin Fontana, Iain Reid, J. Jill Robinson, Susan Olding, Mary Soderstrom, David Swick and Robert J. Wiersema. We will be running Q&As with them over the next two weeks to find out how they tackled the challenge of reading all of this year’s entries.

CBC Radio, along with our partners the Canada Council for the Arts, Air Canada’s enRoute magazine, and The Banff Centre, would like to congratulate everyone who’s made the longlist! And a big thank you to everyone who participated this year.

Be sure to check back on July 9 when we will be announcing the shortlist for the prize.

Comments are closed.

set count down final date: 11/01/2014
set count up final date: 11/01/2014
show ENTER NOW menu 0