Stephen Lewis defends The Year of the Flood by Margaret Atwood


Congratulations to Wab Kinew for successfully defending The Orenda by Joseph Boyden, this year's Canada Reads-winning book! Replay all the action here.

Stephen Lewis is one of Canada's most prominent activists. A Companion of the Order of Canada, he's the chair of the Stephen Lewis Foundation, which provides support to women and children in Africa living with HIV/AIDS.

Margaret Atwood is one of Canada's most beloved writers and respected thinkers, with more than 40 books to her credit -- novels, short stories, poetry, literary criticism, social history, and books for children.

The Year of the Flood is the second novel in Margaret Atwood's Maddaddam trilogy, which deals with a dystopic future and the aftermath of environmental degradation. In a world driven by shadowy, corrupt corporations and the uncontrolled development of new, gene-spliced life forms, a man-made pandemic occurs, obliterating human life. Two people find they have unexpectedly survived: Ren, a young dancer locked inside a high-end sex club, and Toby, who has barricaded herself alone inside a luxurious spa. But they can't stay hidden forever...

The Year of the Flood was published in 2010 by Random House. Atwood's final installment in the trilogy, Maddaddam was published this year.

Margaret Atwood on The Next Chapter:

media clip

Stephen Lewis on Here and Now:

Download Flash Player to view this content.

Purchase The Year of the Flood from the CBC Shop

What is the one novel that could change Canada?


Comments are closed.