Great True Stories: The Charles Taylor Prize finalists


UPDATE: These polls are now closed. Check out our other polls on our featured polls page!

The Charles Taylor Prize, inaugurated in 2000, honours the best in Canadian literary non-fiction. Originally awarded every two years, this prestigious honour became an annual event in 2004. Winners of the award receive $25,000 and each finalist is awarded $2,000.

The award is named after renowned journalist Charles P.B. Taylor. Taylor's wife Noreen created the award in his honour, after his death in 1997.

Many great Canadian writers have been nominated for the Charles Taylor Prize, including Wayne Johnston, Carol Shields, Richard Gwyn, Anna Porter and Ian Brown.

Below the jump, you will find 10 polls, one for each year the prize has been given out. In each poll, vote for the book you'd most like to see on the Canada Reads: True Stories list. 

You can vote once per poll and the polls close on Thursday, October 13 at midnight ET.

Each vote counts as one point. Books accumulate points based on polls and recommendations. The 40 books with the most support will be named the Canada Reads: True Stories Top 40. 

2000 finalists

In 2000, the winner was Wayne Johnston for Baltimore's Mansion.


2002 finalists

In 2002, the winner was Carol Shields for her biography, Jane Austen.


2004 finalists

In 2004, the prize announced it would be awarded annually. The winner was Isabel Huggan for Belonging: Home Away from Home.


2005 finalists

In 2005, the winner was Charles Montgomery for The Last Heathen: Encounters with Ghosts and Ancestors in Melanesia.


2006 finalists

In 2006, J.B. MacKinnon won for Dead Man in Paradise.


2007 finalists

In 2007, Rudy Wiebe won for Of This Earth: A Mennonite Boyhood in the Boreal Forest.


2008 finalists

In 2008, Richard Gwyn won for his biography, John A.: The Man Who Made Us: The Life and Times of John A. Macdonald, Vol. One: 1815-1867.


2009 finalists

In 2009, Tim Cook won for Shock Troops: Canadians Fighting the Great War 1917-1918.


2010 finalists

In 2010, Ian Brown won for The Boy in the Moon: A Father's Search For His Disabled Son.


2011 finalists

In 2011, Charles Foran won for Mordecai: The Life & Times.


Which books did you vote for? Let us know in the comments below!

Comments are closed.