CBCBooks on  Twitter CBCBooks on Facebook

Cast Your Vote: The B.C. National Award finalists


UPDATE: These polls are now closed. Check out our other polls on our featured polls page!

In 2005, the British Columbia Achievement Foundation launched a new award, British Columbia's National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction, to celebrate the best in non-fiction from coast to coast to coast. This $40,000 prize is awarded annually, and esteemed writers such as John Vaillant, Ian Brown, Lorna Goodison and Noah Richler have taken home top honours in its short history.

Below the jump, you will find seven polls, one for each year the prize has been given out. In each poll, vote for the book you'd most like to see on the Canada Reads: True Stories list. You can vote once per poll and the polls close on Friday, October 7 at midnight ET.

Each vote counts as one point. Books accumulate points based on polls and recommendations. The 40 books with the most support will be named the Canada Reads: True Stories Top 40.

2005 finalists

In 2005, the winner was Patrick Lane for There Is a Season.


2006 finalists

In 2006, the winner was Rebecca Godfrey for Under the Bridge.


2007 finalists

In 2007, the winner was Noah Richler for This Is My Country, What's Yours?.


2008 finalists

In 2008, the winner was Lorna Goodison for From Harvey River.


2009 finalists

In 2009, the winner was Russell Wangersky for Burning Down the House.


2010 finalists

In 2010, the winner was Ian Brown for The Boy in the Moon.


2011 finalists

In 2011, the winner was John Vaillant for The Tiger.


Don't forget you can recommend a book for Canada Reads: True Stories. If you do, you could win a trip to Toronto to see the final Canada Reads debate live in February. All the details are here.

Which books did you vote for? Let us know in the comments below!

Comments are closed.