CBCBooks on  Twitter CBCBooks on Facebook

Cast Your Vote: Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction


UPDATE: These polls are now closed. Check out our other polls on our featured polls page!

The Writers' Trust of Canada launched its literary awards in 1997, with a fiction and non-fiction prize. While Rogers has sponsored the fiction prize for its entire 14 years, the non-fiction prize has had several different sponsors. In 2011, the prize brought on a new sponsor and was relaunched as the Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction, upping the winner's purse to $60,000.

A number of prominent Canadian writers have been finalists for this award in its past incarnation, including Noah Richler, Anna Porter, Taras Grescoe and Carol Shields.

Below the jump, you will find 14 polls, one for each year the prize has been given out. In each poll, vote for the book you'd most like to see on the Canada Reads: True Stories list. You can vote once in each poll and the polls below will close on Tuesday, October 4 at midnight, ET.

Each vote counts as one point. Books accumulate points based on polls and recommendations. The 40 books with the most support will be named the Canada Reads: True Stories Top 40.

1997 finalists

In 2005, the winner was Ernest Hillen for Small Mercies: A Boy After War.


1998 finalists

In 2005, the winner was Rudy Wiebe and Yvonne Johnson for Stolen Life: A Journey of a Cree Woman.


1999 finalists

In 1999, the winner was Modris Eksteins for Walking Since Daybreak.


2000 finalists

In 2000, the winner was Erna Paris for Long Shadows: Truth, Lies and History.


2001 finalists

In 2001, the winner was Clark Blaise for Time Lord.


2002 finalists

In 2002, the winner was Jake MacDonald for Houseboat Chronicles: Notes from a Life in Shield Country.


2003 finalists

In 2003, the winner was Brian Fawcett for Virtual Clearcut: Or, the Way Things Are in My Hometown.


2004 finalists

In 2004, the winner was Elaine Dewar for The Second Tree: Of Clones, Chimeras, and Quests for Immortality.


2005 finalists

In 2005, the winner was John Vaillant for The Golden Spruce: A True Story of Myth, Madness and Greed.


2006 finalists

In 2006, the winner was Dragan Todorovic for The Book of Revenge: A Blues for Yugoslavia.


2007 finalists

In 2007, the winner was Anna Porter for Kasztner's Train: The True Story of Rezso Kasztner, Unknown Hero of the Holocaust.


2008 finalists

In 2008, the winner was Taras Grescoe for Bottomfeeder: How to Eat Ethically in a World of Vanishing Seafood.


2009 finalists

In 2009, the winner was Brian Brett for Trauma Farm: A Rebel History of Rural Life.


2010 finalists

In 2010, the winner was James FitzGerald for What Disturbs Our Blood: A Son's Quest to Redeem the Past.


2011 finalists

The 2011 winner will be announced on October 25 at a gala event in Toronto.


Don't forget you can recommend a book for Canada Reads: True Stories. If you do, you could win a trip to Toronto to see the final Canada Reads debate live in February. All the details are here.

Which books did you vote for? Let us know in the comments below.

Comments are closed.