Gary Barwin, Drew Hayden Taylor and Amy Jones are the 2017 Leacock Medal finalists

barwin-taylor-jones.pngFrom left: Gary Barwin (photo by Adela Talbot), Drew Hayden Taylor (photo from the author's website) and Amy Jones (photo by Spun Creative) are finalists for the 2017 Leacock Medal.

Two debut novels and a collection of sci-fi stories have been named to the 2017 Leacock Medal shortlist.

The $15,000 prize annually celebrates the best in Canadian literary humour.

Gary Barwin is a finalist for Yiddish for Pirates, a nautical odyssey narrated by a wise-cracking, polyglot parrot. The novel was a finalist for the Scotiabank Giller Prize and Governor General's Literary Award for fiction. Barwin is judging the 2017 CBC Poetry Prize.

Drew Hayden Taylor is nominated for Take Us to Your Chief, a collection of nine tales that marry sci-fi with Indigenous storytelling. Recently, Taylor was named among 150 Indigenous artists to receive a REVEAL Indigenous Art Award.

Amy Jones' debut novel We're All in This Together rounds out the shortlist. The tragicomic book follows a family forced to face their demons when their matriarch survives going over a waterfall in a barrel and becomes Internet famous. Jones won the 2006 CBC Short Story Prize.

The winner of the prize will be announced on June 10, 2017.

Last year's winner was The Republic of Dirt by Susan Juby.

Thumbnail image for whitespace-620.jpg
Yiddish for Pirates

Yiddish for Pirates
by Gary Barwin

Take Us to Your Chief
by Drew Hayden Taylor

We're All in This Together
Thumbnail image for whitespace-620.jpg

Get book recommendations, stay up-to-date on CanLit news, discover the best author interviews on CBC and more with the CBC Books newsletter.