Kelley Armstrong, Donna Morrissey and Gordon Korman among finalists for 2017 Arthur Ellis Awards


Kelley Armstrong (left) and Donna Morrissey (centre) are nominated in the Best Novel category. Gordon Korman (right) is a finalist for Best Juvenile/YA Book.

Crime Writers of Canada have announced the finalists for the Arthur Ellis Awards, which honour excellence in Canadian crime writing, across eight categories.

The finalists for Best Novel are:

The finalists for Best First Novel are:

The finalists for the Lou Allin Memorial Award for best novella are:

  • Rundown by Rick Blechta
  • No Trace by Brenda Chapman
  • "The Devil You Know" by Jas. R. Petrin
  • When Blood Lies by Linda L. Richards
  • "The Village That Lost Its Head" by Peter Robinson

The finalists for Best Short Story are:

  • "Steve's Story" by Cathy Ace
  • "A Death at the Parsonage" by Susan Daly
  • "Where There's a Will" by Elizabeth Hosang
  • "The Ascent" by Scott Mackay
  • "The Granite Kitchen" by David Morrell

The finalists for Best Book in French are:

  • Red Light: Adieu, Mignonne by Marie-Eve Bourassa
  • Vrai ou faux by Chrystine Brouillet
  • Terreur domestique by Guillaume Morrissette
  • Rinzen et l'homme perdu by Johanne Seymour
  • Le Blues des sacrifiés by Richard Ste-Marie

The finalists for Best Juvenile/YA Book are:

  • Masterminds: Criminal Destiny by Gordon Korman
  • Trial by Fire by Norah McClintock
  • The Girl in a Coma by John Moss
  • Shooter by Caroline Pignat
  • Another Me by Eva Wiseman

The finalists for Best Nonfiction Book are:

The finalists for the Unhanged Arthur Award for best unpublished first crime novel are:

  • An Absence of Empathy by Mary Fernando
  • The Golkonda Project by S.J. Jennings
  • Concrete Becomes Her by Charlotte Morganti
  • Celtic Knot by Ann Shortell
  • The Last Dragon by Mark Thomas

Filmmaker and producer Christina Jennings is the recipient of the Derrick Murdoch Award, which recognizes special achievements in the crime genre. Jennings has produced several film and television projects inspired by crime fiction.

The winners will be announced on May 25, 2017.

Thumbnail image for whitespace-620.jpg

Get book recommendations, stay up-to-date on CanLit news, discover the best author interviews on CBC and more with the CBC Books newsletter.