CBC Short Story Prize 2017

28 writers make the 2017 CBC Short Story Prize longlist


Alix Hawley, who won the Amazon.ca First Novel Award in 2015, and Todd Babiak, a former finalist for the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize and the Stephen Leacock Medal for Humour, are among the 28 writers longlisted for the 2017 CBC Short Story Prize.

Also on the list are Jane Eaton Hamilton, who previously won the award in 2003 and 2014 and two former CBC Creative Nonfiction Prize winners, Carrie Mac and Patti-Kay Hamilton.

The complete longlist is:

The winner of the CBC Short Story Prize will receive $6,000 from the Canada Council for the Arts, publication in Air Canada enRoute magazine, and a 10-day writing residency at the Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity.

Five finalists will be selected by the jury, which is comprised of Jen Sookfong Lee, Shyam Selvadurai and Marina Endicott. The shortlist will be announced on April 12.

The longlist was selected by a team of readers including Karim Alrawi, Kris Bertin, Jon Chan Simpson, Ann Y.K. Choi, Joan Crate, John Goldbach, Sarah Mian, Nick Mount, Chelsea Rooney, Adam Lewis Schroeder, Iman Verjee and Jia Qing Wilson-Yang.

To see the longlist for the French competition, go to the Prix de la nouvelle Radio-Canada.

David Huebert won the CBC Short Story Prize in 2016 for "Enigma." The 2018 competition will be open in September.

The CBC Poetry Prize is now open. The deadline to submit your original, unpublished poetry is May 31, 2017. You can receive support and inspiration three times a week by subscribing to our poetry writing tips newsletter