Amos Oz among 2017 Man Booker International Prize finalists

oz-manbooker.pngAmos Oz, pictured here at an awards ceremony in 2014, is among the finalists for the 2017 Man Booker International Prize. (Christian Charisius/Canadian Press)

Six books from around the world are finalists for the 2017 Man Booker International Prize, which was narrowed down from a 13-book longlist. The £50,000 ($82,190.00 Cdn) award is given annually to a novel translated into English. The prize money is divided equally between the author and translator.

The finalists are:

  • Compass by Mathias Énard (France), translated by Charlotte Mandell
  • A Horse Walks into a Bar by David Grossman (Israel), translated by Jessica Cohen
  • The Unseen by Roy Jacobsen (Norway), translated by Don Bartlett
  • Mirror, Shoulder, Signal by Dorthe Nors (Denmark), translated by Misha Hoekstra
  • Judas by Amos Oz (Israel), translated by Nicholas de Lange
  • Fever Dream by Samanta Schweblin (Argentina), translated by Megan McDowell

"These wonderful novels shine a light on compelling individuals struggling to make sense of their place in a complex world," jury chair Nick Barley said in a statement.

Until 2016, the Man Booker International Prize was given bi-annually to an author for their body of work. In 2016, the award was changed to annually honour a book translated into English. Amos Oz was a finalist for the award under the old system in 2007.

The 2016 winner of the Man Booker International Prize was The Vegetarian, written by South Korean author Han Kang and translated by Deborah Smith.

The 2017 winner will be announced on June 14, 2017.


Thumbnail image for whitespace-620.jpg

Get book recommendations, stay up-to-date on CanLit news, discover the best author interviews on CBC and more with the CBC Books newsletter.