Join CBC Books on Facebook for the live announcement of the RBC Taylor Prize shortlist

Taylor Prize juryFrom left: Canadian historian John English, journalist Ann MacMillan and writer Colin McAdam will judge the 2017 RBC Taylor Prize.

On Wednesday, January 11, the RBC Taylor Prize will announce the finalists who will comprise its 2017 shortlist. The press conference will be livestreamed on CBC Books' Facebook page starting at 10 a.m. ET.

The RBC Taylor Prize is an annual prize for Canadian nonfiction, which comes with a $25,000 cash award.

The 12 titles on the longlist:

The winner of the prize will be announced on March 6, 2017. This year's jury panel consists of historian John English, journalist Ann MacMillan and novelist Colin McAdam.

The winner of the 2016 RBC Taylor Prize was Rosemary Sullivan for her biography Stalin's Daughter.

Thumbnail image for whitespace-620.jpg audio
Thumbnail image for whitespace-620.jpg

Get book recommendations, stay up-to-date on CanLit news, discover the best author interviews on CBC and more with the CBC Books newsletter.