5 books make the RBC Taylor Prize shortlist

5-taylorprize.jpgThe five finalists of the 2017 RBC Taylor Prize are (from left): Matti Friedman (photo: Sebastian Scheiner), Marc Raboy, Diane Schoemperlen (photo: Mark Raynes Roberts), Max Eisen (photo: Bernd Thissen/Canadian Press) and Ross King.

The RBC Taylor Prize, an annual award that honours the best in Canadian nonfiction with a $25,000 prize, has announced its 2017 shortlist.

The five finalists are:

This marks a second major award nomination for Friedman, Raboy and King. Both Pumpkinflowers and Mad Enchantment were nominated for the 2016 Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction. Meanwhile, Raboy's Marconi was a finalist for the Governor General's Literary Award for non-fiction.

The winner of the 2017 RBC Taylor Prize will be announced on March 6, 2017. This year's jury panel consists of historian John English, journalist Ann MacMillan and novelist Colin McAdam.

The winner of the 2016 RBC Taylor Prize was Rosemary Sullivan for her biography Stalin's Daughter.

Thumbnail image for whitespace-620.jpg
Thumbnail image for whitespace-620.jpg audio
Thumbnail image for whitespace-620.jpg

Get book recommendations, stay up-to-date on CanLit news, discover the best author interviews on CBC and more with the CBC Books newsletter.