Nino Ricci, Debra Komar win Canadian Authors Association Awards

Nino Ricci took the 2016 Canadian Authors Literary Award for fiction for his novel Sleep, while forensic scientist Debra Komar won in the Canadian history category for The Bastard of Fort Stikine.

The Canadian Authors Association announced the winners for their 2016 literary awards on Saturday, June 18, at the Canadian Writers' Summit in Toronto.

Nino Ricci won in the fiction category for his latest novel, Sleep, a dark thriller about an academic on a self-destructive, insomnia-fuelled downward spiral.  

Forensic scientist and author Debra Komar won for Canadian history for her latest true historical murder mystery, The Bastard of Fort Stikine.

Joe Denham picked up the CAA Literary Award for poetry for his collection Regeneration Machine, while Kayla Czaga won the emerging writer award.

This year marked the inaugural Canadian Authors Association's Fred Kerner Award, an award for best overall book by a CAA member. The prize named for the former honorary president of the association who mentored emerging writers. Caroline Vu took home the prize for her book Palawan Story.

The Canadian Authors Association was founded by Stephen Leacock and some of his fellow writers in 1921, making it the country's first and longest-running national organization of writers. The Canadian Authors Literary Awards were introduced in 1975.