Peter Kirby, Ausma Zehanat Khan win Arthur Ellis Awards for crime writing


Ausma Zehanat Khan and Peter Kirby took home awards from Crime Writers of Canada.

Peter Kirby and Ausma Zehanat Khan are among the winners of the 2016 Arthur Ellis Awards for crime writing in Canada. Peter Kirby took home the Best Novel Award for Open Season, the third book in his Montreal-set Luc Vanier series. Ausma Zehanat Khan received the Best First Novel Award for her debut novel The Unquiet Dead. The second book in that series, The Language of Secrets, was released this year.

The awards are presented by Crime Writers of Canada. Past winners include Louise Penny, Howard Engel, Stevie Cameron and Peter Robinson.

The full list of winners is:

  • Best Novel: Open Season by Peter Kirby
  • Best First Novel: The Unquiet Dead by Ausma Zehanat Khan
  • The Lou Allen Memorial Award for Best Novella: Black Canyon, from Dark Hearts by Jeremy Bates
  • Best Short Story: The Avocado Kid by Scott MacKay
  • Best Juvenile/YA: Trouble Is a Friend of Mine by Stephanie Tromly
  • Best Nonfiction: Empire of Deception by Dean Jobb
  • Best Book in French: L'Affaire Myosotis by Luc Chartrand
  • Dundurn Unhanged Arthur for Best Unpublished First Crime Novel: When the Flood Falls by Jayne Barnard

Eric Wright, the author of eighteen crime novels in a career spanning over forty years, was recognized with the 2016 Grand Master Award. Wright won the first Arthur Ellis Award for Best Crime Novel in 1983. Wright died in October 2015, shortly after he was notified that he had been selected for the honour.

Thumbnail image for whitespace-620.jpg audio

Peter Kirby on All in a Weekend:

media clip

Ausma Zehanat Khan on The Next Chapter:

media clip

Dean Jobb on The Current:

media clip

Eric Wright on The Next Chapter:

media clip

Thumbnail image for whitespace-620.jpg true-crime-banner.jpg