Heather O'Neill, Patrick deWitt and André Alexis among authors longlisted for 2015 Scotiabank Giller Prize


Twelve Canadian writers are contending for the $100,000 Scotiabank Giller Prize. The Giller Prize is the richest literary prize in Canada, having doubled the prize amount last year. Heather O'Neill makes the longlist for the second year in a row, having been a finalist in 2014 for her novel The Girl Who Was Saturday Night. Patrick deWitt was a finalist for the prize in 2012 for his breakout novel The Sisters Brothers.

The jury, comprised of Cecil Foster, John Boyne, Alexander MacLeod, Alison Pick, and Helen Oyeyemi, selected the 12 finalists from 168 books - the most ever in the prize's history - submitted by 63 different publishers.

"It's been a joy to immerse ourselves in a world of fiction that speaks of the past and present, of women and men, of rural and urban identities, of humans and animals, of lives lived well and lives lived badly," the jury said of the longlist. "While the writing we've encountered has been marked by audacity and wit, eccentricity and elegance, it has also reminded us of the extraordinary treasures to be found in contemporary Canadian literature."

The 12 longlisted titles are:

The shortlist will be announced on Monday, Oct. 5. The winner will be revealed at a gala event in Toronto on Monday, Nov. 10.

The 2014 winner was debut novelist Sean Michaels for Us Conductors.

fallreadinglist-banner-620x126.jpg books100-bannerdesktop-nwq.jpg