Kobo Emerging Writer Prize winners announced

Kobo_winners_533.jpg(Pictured from left to right: Claire Battershill, Sam Wiebe and Robyn Doolittle)

The winners of the inaugural Kobo Emerging Writer Prize have been announced. The prize is awarded annually to three Canadian writers who have published debut books during the previous calendar year.


Literary Fiction

The winner of the Literary Fiction prize is Claire Battershill for Circus(McClelland & Stewart).Battershill is a former CBC Literary Award winner, having won in 2008 for the title story in this collection.

Judge Miriam Toews found Battershill's stories to be incredibly artful: "She writes in a plain-spoken way, with precision and such economy, while at the very same time expertly weaving layers and more layers of depth and detail and comedy and pathos." space

Genre Fiction

The winner of the Genre Fiction Prize is Sam Wiebe for Last of the Independents (Dundurn). Bestowed to a different genre every year, this year's prize acknowledges a work of mystery.

Judge Ian Hamilton found Wiebe's book to be "a well-crafted homage to the age of crime noir combined with a thoroughly modern sensibility. Sam's characters were engaging and tightly drawn."



The winner of the Non-Fiction prize is Robyn Doolittle for Crazy Town: The Rob Ford Story(Penguin Canada).

Judge Charlotte Gray found that Doolittle's book was a great account of what it's like to be an investigative reporter in today's media world: "Her careful sourcing of facts, and her skill in shaping the drama, makes this much more than a barebones account of a drug-addicted local politician and his toxic family."

The writers will each receive a $10,000 cash prize as well as promotional and marketing support to help build their careers.