Robyn Doolittle, Zarqa Nawaz among Kobo Emerging Writer Prize finalists


Journalist/Rob Ford biographer Robyn Doolittle, Little Mosque on the Prairie creator Zarqa Nawaz and columnist Elizabeth Renzetti headline the finalists for the inaugural Kobo Emerging Writer Prize.

The new literary award presents $10,000 CAD to the winners of three categories - Literary Fiction, Genre Fiction (starting with Mystery this year) and Non Fiction. But as an added award, the winning writers will be offered promotional and marketing support for their written works through 2015.

Here are the finalists for each category:

Non Fiction:

Literary Fiction:
Fiction (Mystery):

      • A Quiet Kill: A Forsyth and Hay Mystery by Janet Brons
      • The Monarch: A Thriller by Jack Soren
      • Cipher by John Jantunen
      • A Siege of Bitterns: A Birder Murder Mystery by Steve Burrows
      • Last of the Independents: Vancouver Noir by Sam Wiebe
The award recognizes the work of debut authors (including self-published works) from the year prior and available as a digital read.

Metrics like book completion rates, ratings and reviews factored into the selection of the finalists, which was undertaken by a team of Kobo booksellers.

The winners will be announced July 7.