2015 Arthur Ellis Awards finalists announced

The shortlists for the 2015 Arthur Ellis Awards were announced on April 23. Bestowed annually by the Crime Writers of Canada, these awards recognize the best in Canadian crime writing from the last year. 

There are nine prizes, two of which offer cash rewards. 

Best Novel
Brenda Chapman, Cold Mourning (Dundurn Press)
Barbara Fradkin, None So Blind (Dundurn Press)
C.C. Humphreys, Plague (Doubleday Canada)
Maureen Jennings, No Known Grave (McClelland & Stewart)
Alen Mattich, Killing Pilgrim (House of Anansi)


Best Nonfiction Book
Bob Deasy (with Mark Ebner), Being Uncle Charlie (Penguin Random House)
Joan McEwen, Innocence on Trial: The Framing of Ivan Henry (Heritage House)
Paula Todd, Extreme Mean: Trolls, Bullies and Predators Online (McClelland & Stewart)


Best First Novel
Janet Brons, A Quiet Kill (Touchwood Editions)
Steve Burrows, Siege of Bitterns (Dundurn Press)
M.H. Callway, Windigo Fire (Seraphim Editions)
Eve McBride, No Worst, There Is None (Dundurn Press)
Sam Wiebe, Last of the Independents (Dundurn Press)

The Lou Allin Memorial Prize for the Arthur Ellis Novella Award ($250)
Rick Blechta, The Boom Room (Orca Book Publishers)
Vicki Delany, Juba Good (Orca Book Publishers)
Ian Hamilton, The Dragon Head of Hong Kong (House of Anansi)
Jas. R. Petrin, A Knock on the Door (Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine)

Best Short Story  
Margaret Atwood, "Stone Mattress" (McClelland & Stewart)
Melodie Campbell, "Hook, Line and Sinker" (Northword Literary Journal)
Peter Clement, "Therapy" (Belgrave House)
Madona Skaff, "First Impressions" (The Whole She-Bang 2, Sisters in Crime)
Kevin P. Thornton, "Writers Block" (World Enough and Crime, Carrick Publishing)
Best Book in French
Hervé Gagnon, Jack: Une enquête de Joseph Laflamme (Expression noir / Groupe librex)
Andrée Michaud, Bondrée (Editions Québec Amérique)
Maryse Rouy, Meurtre à l'hôtel Despréaux (Édition Druide)
Richard Ste-Marie, Repentirs (Alire)

Best Juvenile/YA Book
Michael Betcherman, Face-Off (Penguin Canada)
Sigmund Brouwer, Dead Man's Switch (Harvest House)
S.J. Laidlaw, The Voice Inside My Head (Tundra Books)
Norah McClintock, About That Night (Orca Book Publishers)
Jeyn Roberts, The Bodies We Wear (Knopf Books for Young Readers)

Unhanged Arthur for Best Unpublished First Crime Novel ($500)
Ryan Aldred, Rum Luck
Dave Butler, Full Curl
Dwayne Clayden, Crisis Point
Bill Prentice, Afghan Redemption
Elle Wild, Strange Things Done

The Unhanged Arthur Award is for unpublished work. In addition to a cash prize, the winner will have his or her work evaluated and critiqued by an editor at Dundurn Press. 

The Crime Writers of Canada have also announced Sylvia McConnell as the 2015 Derrick Murdoch Award Winner. This is a special achievement award for a person who has contributed greatly to the development of crime writing in Canada through his or her work in writing, editing, producing, publicity, and organization.

The winners will be announced at the Arthur Ellis Awards Gala on Thursday, May 28, 2015 at the Arts and Letters Club in Toronto. It is open to the public, but tickets must be purchased in advanced through Crime Writers of Canada.