Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction and Journey Prize: Shortlists revealed

Thumbnail image for whitespace-620.jpg

Award-winning novelists Miriam Toews and Steven Galloway are among the five finalists in the running for the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize.

The contenders for the $25,000 prize were revealed on Oct. 1st at Ben McNally Books in Toronto. The complete shortlist is:

The finalists, who will each receive $2,500, were selected from 127 books from 52 publishers by this year's jury, writers Neil Bissoondath, Helen Humphreys, and George Murray.

It's a shortlist stocked with veteran authors with many accolades to their names. Toews won Canada Reads in 2006 for her novel A Complicated Kindness, and is a past winner of the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize when her novel The Flying Troutmans took the award in 2008.

Galloway, whose literary career shot to new heights after publishing his bestseller The Cellist of Sarajevo, has won the Borders Original Voice Award and the OLA Evergreen Award.

The Trinidad-born, Canadian-raised Alexis has been shortlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize, the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize, as well as won the Books in Canada First Novel Award and is a past co-winner of the Trillium Award.

Snyder is a past Governor General's Literary Awards finalist, while Miller has been nominated for a National Magazine Award for Fiction and has had her work broadcasted on the CBC.

Journey Prize finalists announced

The prize organizers also revealed the contenders for the $10,000 Writers' Trust/McCelland & Stewart Journey Prize for short fiction.

The shortlist is:

  • Tyler Keevil (Cheltenham, U.K.) for "Sealskin" (The New Orphic Review)
  • Lori McNulty (Vancouver) for "Monsoon Season" (Descant)
  • Clea Young (Vancouver) for "Juvenile" (The Fiddlehead)

The winners will be announced at a ceremony in Toronto on Nov. 4, hosted by The Globe and Mail arts editor Jared Bland.