If you like Philip Roth, you'll love...

likethis-humanstain-584.jpg

Philip Roth has often been called America's greatest living writer. His many accolades include two National Book Awards, three PEN/Faulkner Awards and a Pulitzer Prize. His career began in 1959 with the publication of the critically acclaimed Goodbye, Columbus. In 2000, he published The Human Stain, which won the PEN/Faulkner Award and was turned into a 2003 movie starring Anthony Hopkins and Nicole Kidman.

The Next Chapter columnist and musician Treasa Levasseur says if you enjoyed reading The Human Stain by Philip Roth, you'll love the Canadian novel Joshua Then and Now by Mordecai Richler. She explained why to show host Shelagh Rogers:


media clip


Why The Human Stain is a great read:

Philip Roth is always Philip Roth in his books. He has a very unique voice in American fiction and, in reading his work, you really get a sense that you as a reader are following this person through his life. One of the things I love about The Human Stain is that the plot is also really great. There are all kinds of surprises in it. All kinds of stuff happens in it you do not see coming, which is so fun. There's a moment in the book where my jaw dropped. I won't reveal it, but it twists everything in the book that has happened up until that point and everything that happens afterwards.


Why The Human Stain fans will love Joshua Then and Now by Mordecai Richler:

The Canadian answer to Philip Roth is Mordecai Richler. How could it not be? Joshua Then and Now is about a man looking back on his life. It is a non-chronological reminiscence, which is very similar to The Human Stain. There is scandal. There is a bit of crime. There's some death in both of these that comes as a shock. Mordecai Richler is writing about Montreal and [the] surrounding area. Like Roth, he's writing about a specific place and, like Roth, we watch Mordecai Richler - the author - go through his life through the lens of his characters. We need to put Joshua Then and Now in the canon of Richler's very best books.


Treasa Levasseur's comments have been condensed and edited.



More from our "Like This? Read This!" series:




Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Submission Policy

Note: The CBC does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comments, you acknowledge that CBC has the right to reproduce, broadcast and publicize those comments or any part thereof in any manner whatsoever. Please note that comments are moderated and published according to our submission guidelines.