Anne Carson, Brenda Hillman win the 2014 Griffin Poetry Prize


Anne Carson (Random House of Canada)

The 2014 winners of the Griffin Poetry Prize were announced at a gala event in Toronto in June 5th. Each year, Canada's most lucrative poetry prize recognizes one Canadian and one international poet with awards worth $65,000 each.

Toronto businessman Scott Griffin created the honour in 2000, along with trustees Margaret Atwood and Michael Ondaatje.

The 2014 Canadian winner was Anne Carson for her collection, Red Doc>. Carson, the jury said, "is a daunting writer having her particular way with the language."

The other Canadian finalists were Ocean by Sue Goyette and Correspondences by Anne Michaels.

The 2014 international winner was Seasonal Works with Letters on Fireby Brenda Hillman. "She steers wildly but ably through another day of teaching, a ceremonial equinox, the distress of bee colony collapse; space junk, political obstruction, military drones, administrative headaches, and everything in between, the jury said of the collection, calling it "a unique work."

The other international finalists were Pilgrim's Flower by Rachael Boast, Silverchest by Carl Phillips and Colonies by Mira Rosenthal (translator) and Tomasz Rozycki (author).

The Griffin Lifetime Recognition Award was given out on June 4th. This year's recipient was Adélia Prado, a Brazilian poet who has published eight books of poetry and seven prose collections.

CBC Books covered the gala live. You can read our liveblog of the event below: