If you like Ernest Hemingway, you'll love...


Ernest Hemingway is often considered one of the greatest American writers of all time. If you are a fan of Hemingway, Iain Reid (author of One Bird's Choice and The Truth About Luck) has a Canadian equivalent you're sure to enjoy: That Summer in Paris by Morley Callaghan. He stopped by CBC Radio's The Next Chapter to explain why:

media clip

Why A Moveable Feast appeals to so many readers:

"There is a lot of discussion about food and drink in A Moveable Feast. It was like travelling through Paris, but it wasn't sightseeing the way we think of it now, getting up and going to do different things every day. The pace was, in my mind, very pleasant. He would wake up, he would write, then he would go and have a long, leisurely lunch, with oysters and cold white wine. That seemed appealing.

There are so many memorable characters: Ezra Pound, James Joyce, F. Scott Fitzgerald. Because all these characters are real, and most of them had gone into their own full writing careers, you can then branch out and read their works after, which enhances the experience of reading Hemingway."

Why A Moveable Feast fans will love That Summer in Paris:

"The first 50 pages or so in the book actually take place in Toronto. Callaghan is starting his journalistic career and that is actually where he first meets Hemingway. Callaghan eventually leaves Toronto and spends the summer of 1929 with the same cast of characters that you read about in A Moveable Feast.

That Summer in Paris is quite different from A Moveable Feast. Callaghan focused much more on Hemingway and Fitzgerald, but you don't read about Callaghan in Hemingway's memoir. Yet, Hemingway is the driving force behind That Summer in Paris. Callaghan was a bit of an outsider. He's coming at it from a different perspective. Unlike the other writers, he wasn't as well known at the time. You get the sense that Callaghan wanted to be liked by Hemingway. It is interesting to get the dynamic from Callaghan's point of view. Callaghan admires him in a way and needs his admiration, but at the same time he's overly sensitive about Hemingway's actions."

More from our "Like This? Read This!" series:

Iain Reid's comments have been edited and condensed.