Frank O'Connor longlisted authors

Frank O'Connor, who died in 1966, was one of Ireland's most prolific writers. (CBS Photo Archive/Getty Images)

Several acclaimed and award-winning Canadian writers, including Emma Donoghue and Tamas Dobozy, have made this year's Frank O'Connor International Short Story Award longlist.

The €25,000 literary prize, based in Cork, Ireland, is presented each year for the best collection of short stories. O'Connor, the prize's namesake, was one of Cork's most famous sons, having penned many works of short stories, essays, travel writing, and poetry.

The Canadian contingent of this year's longlist includes:

Celeste Augé for Fireproof and Other Stories
C.P. Boyko for Psychology and Other Stories
Nancy Jo Cullen for Canary
Tamas Dobozy for Siege 13
Emma Donoghue for Astray
Rebecca Lee for Bobcat and Other Stories
Colette Maitland for Keeping the Peace
Helen Marshall for Hair Side, Flesh Side
Nadine McInnis for Blood Secrets

Other big literary names contending for the prize are Joyce Carol Oates for Black Dahlia & White Rose, Juno Diáz for This Is How You Lose Her, and Ron Rash, who won the award in 2010 and made the longlist this year for Nothing Gold Can Stay.

Previous winners include Haruki Murakami, Edna O'Brien and Miranda July.

The shortlist will be announced in early June.