Arthur Ellis Awards: The shortlisted authors

hangman.jpgEach year the Arthur Ellis Awards, presented by the Crime Writers of Canada, celebrate the best in Canadian crime writing, a diverse genre that includes works of mystery, thrillers, espionage adventures and suspense novels. Past winners include Linwood Barclay, Pasha Malla, Louise Penny and Howard Shrier. This year's winners will be announced at an awards gala on Thursday, May 30, in Toronto. In the coming weeks, we'll be featuring excerpts and CBC interviews with the shortlisted authors. Until then, here are this year's finalists!

Best First Novel

Best Novel

Best Novella

Best Nonfiction

Best Juvenile/YA

Best Crime Writing in French

Best Short Story

  • Melodie Campbell for Life Without George in Over My Dead Body Mystery Magazine
  • Sandy Conrad for Sins of the Fathers in Daughters and Other Strangers
  • Scott MacKay for Cruel Coast in Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine
  • Jas R. Petrin for Mad Dog in Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine
  • Yasuko Thanh for Spring-Blade Knife in Floating Like the Dead

Best Unpublished First Crime Novel: The Unhanged Arthur

  • William Hall for Cold Black Tide
  • Ilonka Halsband for The Raffle Baby
  • Coleen Steele for Sins Revisited