Five authors shortlisted for the 2012 First Novel Award


The finalists for the First Novel Award were announced Wednesday. The $7,500 prize awards -- as the title suggests -- the best first novel by a Canadian author.

This year's shortlist consists of Ru by Kim Thuy, which was also shortlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize last year; Y by Marjorie Celona; The Rest is Silence by Scott Fotheringham; People Park by Pasha Malla; and Malarky by Anakana Schofield.

Authors Madeleine Thien and Alexi Zentner, poet Meaghan Strimas and Quill & Quire editor Stuart Woods comprise the 2012 jury.

"A first novel should be brash and ambitious, and announce the arrival of a new talent. That quality is something this diverse group of books has in common," Woods said in a press release.

Past winners of the prize, which is in its 37th year, include Michael Ondaatje, Gil Adamson and Joseph Boyden.

All finalists receive a $750 gift certificate. The winner will be announced on April 24.