The Charles Taylor Prize: Shortlist revealed

The five finalists for this year's Charles Taylor Prize were revealed today. You can find out more about the books in the slideshow below.

Established in memory of Canadian writer and former newspaper correspondent Charles Taylor, the prize celebrates the author of a book that "demonstrates a superb command of the English language, an elegance of style and a subtlety of thought and perception."

Past recipients have included Richard Gwyn, Carol Shields, Ian Brown and Charles Foran.

The winning author, who will be announced in early March, will receive $25,000 and also be featured at Toronto's International Festival of Authors in October. The remaining finalists receive $2,000 each.