Celebrating 75 years of the GGs: Evan Solomon

Download Flash Player to view this content.


The Governor General's Literary Awards turn 75 this year.

The awards were the first to honour excellence in Canadian writing and were initiated by our 15th Governor General, Lord Tweedsmuir. He was the Scottish politician and author, a.k.a. John Buchan, who wrote the celebrated spy novel The Thirty-Nine Steps. Since their inception, the awards have grown to include the categories of Fiction, Non-Fiction, Poetry, Drama, Children's Literature (text and illustration) and Translation, in both English and French.

The list of GGLA winners includes Canadian writers that are now recognized as global literary superstars: Farley Mowat, Stephen Leacock, Margaret Atwood, Mordecai Richler, Alice Munro, Leonard Cohen, Gabrielle Roy, Daniel McIvor, Pierre Berton, Michael Ondaatje and Rohinton Mistry, to name just a few. Their work reflects the depth and richness of Canadian literature.

CBC Books has partnered with the Canada Council for the Arts to produce a series of videos to celebrate this landmark anniversary. We asked a number of high-profile Canadians to tell us about their favourite Governor General's Award-winning book.


Today's video comes from journalist Evan Solomon. His favourite Governor General's Award-winning book is The Wars by Timothy Findley.

Evan Solomon is a two-time Gemini Award-winning journalist who hosts programs on both CBC Radio and CBC Television. He is the anchor of CBC News Network's Power & Politics with Evan Solomon, and he hosts The House on CBC Radio One. Based in Ottawa, Solomon is also an author in his own right. His favourite Governor General's Literary Award-winning book is Timothy Findley's The Wars, which won for best English-language fiction in 1977.

Test your knowledge of GG history by taking our CanLit quiz!

Comments are closed.