Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize finalists announced

The five finalists for the country's newest and richest annual award for non-fiction were announced today. The Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize, sponsored by former lieutenant governor of Ontario Hilary Weston, recognizes the best work of non-fiction by a Canadian author. The Writers' Trust non-fiction award was established in 1997, but had lacked a sponsor since 2008. Earlier this year, Hilary Weston announced that she would step into that role, and that she was fattening the winner's purse to $60,000, up from $25,000.

The inaugural Hilary Weston Prize will be awarded Oct. 25 at a gala ceremony in Toronto. The finalists are:

Comments are closed.