Home: CBC.caCBC RadioCBC TelevisionLocal Become a member Sign in
British Columbia Votes 2005,  Voting Day May 17, 2005
BC Legislature

Election Colombie-britannique 2005
Main > Districts  
Results are not official until Elections BC has reviewed the results, which usually takes several days.
Candidate Party Vote Count Vote Share Elected
Adrian Dix NDP 9394 51.05% X
Rob Nijjar LIB 7543 40.99%
Stuart Mackinnon GRN 1116 6.06%
Steven M. Lay MP 209 1.14%
Donna Petersen PF 70 0.38%
Yvonne Maylynne Tink SEX 69 0.37%
 Last Update:  May 18, 12:49:53 AM PDT 103 of 103 polls reporting


2005 Candidates (as received from Elections B.C.):

  • Adrian Dix, New Democratic Party of B.C.
  • Stuart Mackinnon, Green Party of BC
  • Rob Nijjar, BC Liberal Party
  • Donna Petersen, People's Front

Zoom in on Vancouver-Kingsway

Maps from Elections B.C.
will open in a new window.

Districts Profile:

This east-central Vancouver riding is bordered on the east by Boundary Road, on the south by 45th Avenue East, on the west in part by Victoria and Commercial drives, and on the north by the Grandview Highway. This is a working-class residential district of bungalows on small lots and scattered strips of low-rise apartments and condos. Manufacturing, along with accommodation and food services, provides the most jobs. While unemployment is slightly better than average (8.1 per cent), pay is low: At $49,860, this riding has the province's second-lowest average family income. Education levels, too, are poor, with 15.7 per cent of residents lacking a Grade 9 education (B.C. third-highest such percentage). Diversity is extreme, with B.C.'s highest percentage of visible minorities (74), second-highest percentage of immigrants (60.3) and second-highest percentage of ethnic Chinese residents (53.7).

Political History:

The incumbent in Vancouver-Kingsway is Liberal Rob Nijjar, who in 2001 beat runner-up Alicia Barsallo of the NDP by nearly 3,000 votes. Preceding Nijjar as MLA here was Glen Clark of the NDP. In 1991 Clark won this seat by beating Liberal Elaine White by nearly 5,000 votes. He became premier in February 1996, and in the election that same year triumphed over Francis Ho, a Liberal, by 3,528 votes. Before 1991 this area was part of the old Vancouver East riding, a two-member district and NDP stronghold. New Democrat MLAs included Alex MacDonald (1960-86), Bob Williams (1966-76 and again from 1984-91), Dave Barrett (1976-84) and Glen Clark (1986-91).

In 2001, the voter turnout in Vancouver-Kingsway was 67.1 per cent – somewhat below the provincial average.



District Profiles

 Overall Election Results
Party Elected Leading Total Vote Share
LIB 46 0 46 46.03%
NDP 33 0 33 41.27%
GRN 0 0 0 9.11%
DR 0 0 0 .84%
OTH 0 0 0 2.76%
 Last Update June 1, 5:11:20 PM PDT



Jobs | Contact Us | Help | RSS
Terms of Use | Privacy | Copyright | Other Policies
Copyright © CBC 2005